Skip to content

A Drop From the Sea Of Cowards

March 29, 2010

Die By The Drop. Wow. As implied by the title, and in keeping with the band’s dark and stormy image, The Dead Weather’s newest single is harsh, loud and scary. But I listen, and I know that if I can just get through it, I’ll get to the end and like what I’ve heard. It’s Jack White, after all.

I realize that, if I’m to call myself a critic, it’s wrong to presume a favorable opinion based so heavily on trust in the artist. This kind of judgment is rash and biased. But, really, I’m not so much a critic as someone who loves music and fancies analysis. I don’t claim to have expertise…just an ear, interest and a hint of intuition.

So, when it comes to certain visionaries such as White, I trust his judgment more than I do my own knee-jerk reaction. The Dead Weather’s music is not catchy or melodic or traditionally accessible. In fact, it’s the exact opposite of today’s Popular music. It’s raw, dark and brooding and can leave you feeling vulnerable and exposed, as though someone played out your worst nightmare or uncovered your darkest fantasy. This is where the brilliance lies, because it takes some seriously powerful music to have such an effect on a person’s psyche.

And this is why I hold White in such high regard. I can always derive something meaningful from his music. It challenges me to dig deeper and listen more closely and, when it’s performed, it electrifies the room and leaves everyone spellbound. So, if the latest from The Dead Weather unnerves me at first (note sinister track list below), that’s all the more reason for me to pay attention. I’ll presume a favorable outcome and take time to get to know the music. Like a Jackson Pollock or a William Faulkner, White is a dark and complicated artist, and some of his work takes time to digest. But when you allow yourself to really take it in, it can blow you away.

Sea Of Cowards is expected to be released May 11th. Here’s the track list:

1. Blue Blood Blues
2. Hustle And Cuss
3. The Difference Between Us
4. I’m Mad
5. Die By The Drop
6. I Can’t Hear You
7. Gasoline
8. No Horse
9. Looking At The Invisible Man
10. Jawbreaker
11. Old Mary

No comments yet

Leave a comment